What a difference a year makes

ImageLast Winter, I bought these heels online when I had de-activated my facebook in attempt to lessen distractions from working on an assignment. Obviously I simply shifted my distraction to online shopping, which turned out to be a more costly choice :/

This Winter, I bought these runners to have an official pair of shoes just for running! Much more comfortable than the boots… maybe not as hot 😛

So it’s the night before my first 10km public running event. I’m hoping to be in bed no later than 10:30 and have a peaceful and fulfilling sleep.

I’ve had my carb fix of rice (and chicken and veg) for dinner. Oats tomorrow morning.

I feel mostly ready-ish for this event. I’ve envisaged some amusing scenarios-

* getting knocked over in a stampede at the beginning
* crawling after the 1k mark
* pacing myself behind a cute guy and running in the waft of his aromatic deodorant

Is it bad that I’m looking forward to taking a cup of water, have the water gush down my chin as I try to drink it and then get to chuck it on the side of the road, just like the professionals do on TV? My vanity is also reminding me to look out for the cameras and try not to appear exhausted 🙂

I’m looking forward to running with my brother, my cousins, and friends – one of them being one of my besties who has literally been inviting me for years to join her on a ‘fun’ run. My excuses were: it’s on a Sunday, I’d have to train and I don’t want to lose boob fat.

What has made the difference this time?
Usually my Sunday morning activity is going to a church service. Going to a church service to be with a community of believers and worship God together.
Tomorrow I do still get to be with a community of believers, just a smaller one, and we will be honouring God by doing this fundraiser run, which in effect is an act of love towards our neighbours, in this case, being the orphans in Myanmar.

Training – I have definitely benefited from going for runs.
(I’m not sure how intensely I will continue this exercise after tomorrow though!)
Socially, it’s been something I could do with my housemate, with my brother and cousins and with one of my besties. Physically, it has helped me to up my fitness, besides netball. I can eat junk and work it off, but it has also helped me to want to eat better.
The biggest benefit though, has been the mental shift, which is still continuing to change and strengthen. God and I are the only ones who really know how significant this has been for me. I love that I’ve never given up on any of the goals that I made for myself this whole time I’ve been running. I’m happy that I didn’t give up. I love that I have been able to meet my goals and exceed my own expectations of myself in this area.
Thank you God. Feels nice 🙂

Loss of fat –
Look, they were never really big anyway.
There is more to a woman than boobs. Re-read if necessary.

Lastly, purpose.
I found it hard to run before because I pretty much didn’t like it!
Why wake up early? Why punish yourself to do something you don’t enjoy?

Thankfully, I have come to enjoy it somewhat because it has come with benefits!
More seriously though, this ‘temporary suffering’ means that people have donated and hopefully will continue to donate money to provide practical needs for the children in the Myanmar orphanages. It’s so great! It’s humbling and it’s a privilege. It seriously makes me happy and humbled when I think of all the people it has involved – from the orphans, to local workers and my friends in Myanmar, to my cousin in the Philippines who helped with our running shirts, to my friends and family who have donated and even Light FM! So cool.

 Ok, that’s all for now. Hope to post a good reflection after the run! Here we go!!!!!!!

 

Leave a comment